Baromedical Nurses Association (BNA)

The BNA annual membership meeting was held at the Gulf Coast Chapter meeting this year and what an exciting meeting it was! There were familiar faces as well as many new members. 

The membership meeting PowerPoint will be available for you on the BNA website at to catch up on past accomplishments and future plans. 

Be watching for information on the 3rd annual Hyperbaric Nurses Day on the first Tuesday in April 2020. Updates will be provided on the BNA website for this very special day. 

We are happy to announce two new board members this year: Karen (Kari) Fowler - Director at Large and Heather Wheaton - Secretary. The positions to be filled for 2020 include Vice President, Director-at-Large, a position on the BNACB (Baromedical Nurses Association Certification Board), and UHMS Liaison. Please be thinking about nominating a person—or yourself—for these positions. The board is a very dynamic and productive group of people working together to further hyperbaric nursing. Your ideas and participation will enhance this process.

Thanks to all nurses who have volunteered to assist on committees. We are still looking for more people willing to give a few hours of time to help on committees such as publication, research, education and membership. Remember that being on the board as an officer or serving on committees will help toward receiving your ACHRN. Check the BNA website at for the duties for these positions. 

BNA Awards: There are 5 recipients for awards this year. Congratulations to all!

  1. Diane Norkool Award for Excellence in Hyperbaric Nursing: Awarded to Terry Beard — This award is for dedication and commitment to the field of hyperbaric medicine as a nurse. The recipient is currently serving in the hyperbaric field or making significant contribution to the field of hyperbaric medicine. He/she must have been a member of the BNA for a minimum of two years.
  2. Rising Star Award: Awarded to Samantha Wooldridge and Mindy Skjordal — This award is presented to nurse that has five years or less and proves to be leaders, innovators, member of the BNA and making significant contributions to our field. 
  3. Circle of Excellence Award: The recipient of this award will be announced at a chapter meeting later this year. This award honors a nominee who is not a member of the BNA. The recipient is an individual who exemplifies extraordinary mentoring and/or professional support to promote the mission and vision of hyperbaric nursing, including but not limited to research, education or safety.
  4. BNA Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award: Awarded to Laura Josefsen — This award is presented to a member of the BNA for outstanding contributions, time and support for our organization. He/she must have been a member of the BNA for a minimum of five years. 

Special Note from the president of the BNA: The Baromedical Nurses Association would like to give special recognition this year to Laura Josefsen. The BNA Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award has not been presented since 1991. This award honors a nurse that has given many years of service to hyperbaric nursing. This was an easy award to present this year. The Baromedical Nurses Association is pleased to honor Laura with the “Lifetime Achievement Award.” She has worked in HBO2 for most of her nursing career. She was one of the founding members of the BNA in 1985! She has been involved in patient care, education, publishing and is a surveyor for the Hyperbaric Facility Accreditation program. We honor her for the example she is to us. She is always willing to answer questions and share her expertise in the field of hyperbaric nursing! Thanks, Laura, for all you have done for our unique field of nursing.

We are looking forward to a great year for the BNA!

Tina Ziemba, Awards Chair, Connie Hutson accepting the award for Terry Beard, Laura Josefsen, Samantha Woodridge and Annette Gwilliam, BNA President

To get notification when we release a new issue of WCHM, please enter your name and email address here.

Contact Us

Best Publishing Company
631 US Highway 1, Suite 307
North Palm Beach, FL 33408

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Copyright © 2018 Best Publishing Company, a company of WCHMedia Group, Inc | All rights reserved
Find more information at